Grant Guidelines

The Twin City Development Foundation is a 501(c)(6) organization

Geographic area served: Winston-Salem and Forsyth County, NC

Focus areas:

  • Economic Development
  • Workforce Development
  • Education – primarily high school, community college and vocational

Types of support:

  • Grants, matching grants
  • Program related investments via low interest loans


    • Grants and matching grants must be awarded to non-profit organizations, governmental entities or approved public/private partnerships.
    • Loans could be made to non-profit or for-profit projects otherwise meeting our criteria.

Community benefits expected from grants may include: new jobs, saving existing jobs, improvements to the Forsyth County “neighborhood”, improving public education, nurturing entrepreneurs and improving the overall business climate in the county.

Criteria for determining the success of funded projects is established on a case-by-case basis.

Funding formula for annual grant pool:

    • 4.5% of the Foundation’s average portfolio value for the prior rolling 12-quarters.
    • Note: as a 501(c)(6), the Foundation is not obligated to award a minimum level of grants each year.

Annual grant calendar:

    • Spring grant cycle:
      • March 1 Grant pre-application deadline
      • Late April Grant decisions made – notification by May 1
    • Fall grant cycle:
      • September 1 Grant pre-application deadline
      • Late October Grant decisions made – notification by Nov. 1

Emergency grants outside of the normal grant review and approval cycles can be considered subject to approval by the Board of Directors.

Applications made available only following discussion with the Foundation’s Executive Director – please use our Contact Us page on this website to initiate that process. Prior to a full application, prospective grantees must submit a short executive summary for evaluation.

If you feel that you are a good candidate to apply for a grant from the TCDF, please contact us to initiate a discussion with our Executive Director.